Sra. Nelly Orr - March 2017

Hola! I am Sra. Orr. I was born in Caracas, Venezuela. I am married and have two kids; Victoria, 23 and Garrett, 18. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Economics and worked in private and government entities in Venezuela. I owned a landscaping company that I operated for five years before coming to the United States. I came to the United States in 1996 with no formal English training and no true understanding of American ways of doing things. It was a struggle going to the store, getting gasoline, and trying to communicate with American people. I couldn't believe the number of different varieties of one product.

One of my favorite things to do is read. I enjoy running, exercising, cooking, traveling with my family, and spending time with my friends.

I enjoy knowing and understanding other cultures and people’s backgrounds. I always try to find the best in people and to appreciate their unique beauty. I apply the same to my students by always trying to recognize their strengths, motivating them and encouraging them to try their best and go the extra mile, and to never give up. I really think it makes a difference in their lives.

I love to volunteer at my church, especially in the mentoring program where I have the opportunity to pour love into women and kids going through difficult situations. I enjoy these meetings and the opportunity for us to grow together in our faith.

A weird fact about me is that I practiced Tae Kwon Do during college and was national champion three years in a row, which allowed me to get a scholarship and finish college.

I enjoy teaching Spanish to kids at school, to families at their homes, and as a private tutor. I try to make it fun, interesting, and practical without losing the importance of good grammar, proper writing, and communication.

I am so grateful for my opportunities and I love what I do.